An Explanation of “Convalidación – Validation”

This letter is to clarify the process of Convalidación which is part of Spanish Law for those students who are of Spanish nationality. Convalidación is the recognition by the Spanish authorities that a benchmarked level of Secondary education, Spanish language and Spanish studies has been achieved. The importance of Convalidación, the requirements and process will be explained to all students.

It is equivalent to:
Year 11 = 4º ESO (Educación Secundaria Obligatoria)
Year 13 = Bachillerato

What you need to qualify for Convalidación at the end of Year 11:
4 (I)GCSEs with grade C or higher (this can include Spanish IGCSE)
You must pass the Spanish* and Humanities internal examinations, which are based on the Spanish curriculum. The Spanish curriculum is only taught in Set 1 Spanish. These examinations are inspected and validated by the Spanish authorities.
* The Spanish result at IGCSE does not guarantee you a pass in the Spanish curriculum examinations

What you need to qualify for Convalidación at the end of Year 13:
The Convalidación certificate from Year 11
5 GCSEs with grade C or higher
2 A levels* at grade E or higher or 2xAS and 1xA level with grade E or higher
* Spanish is not a compulsory subject and there are no Humanities studies in the Sixth Form

Convalidación is required at the end of Year 13 if students wish to continue onto Spanish vocational qualifications at higher level although it is not required for entry into a Spanish University.

What is “Humanities”?
Humanities is the Geography and History from the Spanish curriculum.
In Years 7, 8 and 9 there are Humanities lessons on the school timetable taught in English.
In Years 10 and 11, these lessons are taught in Spanish to Set 1 Spanish students who wish to apply for Convalidación. This will not affect their other (I)GCSE subjects.

If you want more details please contact the Office and make an appointment to speak with Snra Barrio or myself.

Mr Colin Macrae
Head of Wingate School